Chief Registrar:Irene Stanfield
Physical Address:201 Freeman Street, Suite 10
Claxton, GA 30417
Mailing Address:P.O. Box 652
Claxton, GA 30417
Board of Registrars:Irene Stanfield
Sharon Massey
Patricia Milton
Office Hours:8:00am - 5:00pm (M-F)

About the Department of Elections

The Elections office registers eligible voters and maintains all records of registered voters pertaining to their designated districts and voting precincts for City and County elections. This office also issues absentee ballots and conducts Early Voting for each election. The Department of Elections is overseen and supervised by the Board of Registrars. The Board is appointed by the Chief Judge of Superior Court on a recommendation by the Grand Jury. Probate Judge Darin McCoy is the Elections Superintendent for Evans County.

2020 State Elections and Voter Registration Calendar
Voter ElectionsVoter Registration DeadlineEarly VotingElection Date
        Presidential Preference Primary, General Primary and Non-Partisan ElectionMay 11, 2020May 18 - June 5, 2020
Saturday, May 30, 2020
June 9, 2020
        General Primary Runoff Election & Nonpartisan General Runoff ElectionMay 11, 2020July 11 - August 7, 2020
Saturday, August 1, 2020
August 11, 2020
        General ElectionOctober 5, 2020October 12 - October 30, 2020
Saturday, October 24, 2020
November 3, 2020
        General Election Runoff for Local and State OfficesOctober 5, 2020December 1, 2020
        General Election Runoff for Federal OfficesOctober 5, 2020January 5, 2021

Other Important 2020 Election Dates
DateDescriptionLegal Code

Georgia My Voter Page (Register to Vote/Check Registration Status)

To register to vote or check your voter registration status, click here (will redirect to the Georgia My Voter Page).

Check to see if your Provisional Voter Ballot was counted

To check or confirm your provisional voter ballot status, click here (will redirect to the Georgia Secretary of State page).
Call the Toll-Free Hotline: 1-844-537-5375 for additional information.

2020 Election FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)

Notice of Intent to Process Absentee Ballots Early