Disaster Unemployment Assistance Now Available

PRESS RELEASE // SAVANNAH, GA – Disaster unemployment assistance is available to workers in Bryan, Bulloch, Chatham, Effingham, Evans, Glynn, Liberty, Long, McIntosh and Wayne counties who lost income as a direct result of Hurricane Matthew in Georgia.

The purpose of disaster unemployment assistance is to help workers whose primary incomes are lost or interrupted by a federally declared disaster. It differs from regular state unemployment insurance because it provides benefits to people who are self-employed, farmers, loggers and employees who work on commission.

Individuals in the 10 counties approved for disaster assistance in Georgia must first apply for regular unemployment insurance by visiting the Georgia Department of Labor website at or apply in person at any Georgia Department of Labor career center. For locations, visit

The Georgia Department of Labor will notify claimants if they are also eligible to file for disaster unemployment assistance.

Eligible claimants in Bryan, Bulloch, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, McIntosh and Wayne counties must apply for disaster unemployment assistance by Friday, Nov. 18. Applicants in Evans, Liberty and Long counties must apply no later than Monday, Nov. 28.

For more information on applying for disaster unemployment assistance visit the Georgia Department of Labor website